Indian Polity – Series 2

1) Which one of the following acts introduced communal electorate in India ?

a) Indian Council Act,1861

b) Indian Council Act, 1892

c) Indian council Act, 1909

View Answer
Option – c)

2) With reference to the colonial period on India, the trade monopoly of the East India Company was ended by

a) The Regulating Act of 1773

b) Pitt’s India Act of 1784

c) The Charter Act of 1813

d) The Charter Act of 1833

3) Which of the following is correct ?

a) The Nehru Report (1928)had advocated the inclusion of Fundamental Right in the Constitution  of India

b) The Government of India Act, 1935 referred to Fundamental Rights 

c) THE August Offer, 1940 included the Fundamental  Right

d) The Cripps mission, 1942 referred to Fundamental  Rights

View Answer
Option – a)

4)Diarchy was first introduced under—

a)Morley-Minto Reforms

b)Mont-ford Reforms 

c)Simon Commission Plan

d)Government of India Act, 1935

View Answer
Option – b)

5)The first definite step to provide parliamentary control over East India Company was laken by :

a) The Regulating Act, 1773

b)The pitt’s India Act, 1784

c)The Charter Act of 1793

d) The Charter Act of 1813

View Answer
Option – a)

6) Who was the president of the constituent Assembly of Independent India ?

a)Dr. Bhim Rao Ambedkar

b)Dr. Rajendra Prasad

c)c. Rajagopalachari

d)K.M. Munshi

View Answer
Option – b)

7) Who can initiate impeachment proceedings against the President of India?

a) Only Lok Sabha

b) Only Rajya Sabha

c) Either House of the Parliament

d) Any Legislative Assembly

View Answer
Option – c)

8) Who calls the Joint Session of the two Houses of the Parliament?

a) The President

b) The Prime Minister

c) The Lok Sabha Speaker

d) The Vice President

View Answer
Option – a)

9) Who is the final authority to interpret the Constitution?

a) The President

b) The Parliament

c) The Lok Sabha

d) The Supreme Court

View Answer
Option – d)

10) How Many types writs can be issued by the Supreme Court?

a) 2

b) 3

c) 5

d) 6

View Answer
Option – c)

11) Who among the following was the Constitutional adviser to the Constituent Assembly of India?

(a) Dr. B.N. Rao

(b) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

(c) K.M. Munshi

(d) M.C. Setalvad

View Answer
Option – a)

12) Who was the President of the Constituent Assembly?

(a) Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru

(b) Dr. Rajendra Prasad

(c) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar

(d) C. Rajagopalachari

View Answer
Option – b)

13) Which of the following are the principal features of Government of India Act, 1919?

1. Introduction of dyarchy in the executive government of the provinces.

2. Introduction of separate communal electorate for Muslims.

3. Devolution of legislative authority by the Centre to the Provinces.

4. Expansion and reconstitution of Central and Provincial Legislatures.

(a) 1, 2 and 3

(b) 1, 2 and 4

(c) 2, 3 and 4

(d) 1, 3 and 4

View Answer
Option – d)

14) In a parliamentary form of government, real powers of the State are vested in the:

(a) Council of Ministers headed by the Prime Minister

(b) President

(c) Government

(d) Parliament

View Answer
Option – a)

15) The Constitution of India is designed to work as a unitary government:

(a) in normal times

(b) in times of Emergency

(c) when the Parliament so desires

(d) at the will of the President

View Answer
Option – b)